University of Nevada Las Vegas
Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering
Department of Computer Science
My Home Page
Course Page

Computer Science 477/677
Analysis of Algorithms Languages
Spring 2019
Assignments and Lecture Topics

Revised March 20, 2019

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
We will begin by discussing asymptotic complexity.
Monday, January 28, 2019
38 students turned in the not-for-credit quiz. Of those:
  1. 28 answered the high school algebra problem correctly.
  2. 15 answered the calculus problem correctly.
  3. 34 answered the CS302 problem correctly.
Turn in Assignment 1 at the beginning of class today.
Monday, Februay 4, 2019
Turn in Assignment 2 at the beginning of class today.
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Examination.
Practice Exam
Distribution:
  113 25 %-ile
  125 50 %-ile (median)
  129 mean
  145 75 %-ile
  188 highest
  200 possible
Monday, February 25, 2019
I was almost right about the potential. The correct formula is
Φ =
  hi − lo − 1   if X[lo + 1] < pivot and X[hi] > pivot
  hi − lo         otherwise.
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Assignment 3 is now ready.
Monday, March 4, 2019
Read about Double Rotation in AVL trees.
Problems on loop invariants
Answers to problems on loop invariants
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Turn in Assignment 3 at the beginning of class today.
Answers to Assignment 3
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Examination.
Practice Exam
Some of the answers to the practice exam
Error in answer file corrected Tue Mar 12 14:53:41 PDT 2019
Distribution:
  180 25 %-ile
  204 50 %-ile (median)
  200 mean
  220 75 %-ile
  highest 255
  possible 260
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Turn in Assignment 4 at the beginning of class today.
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Final Examination. 8:00 to 10:00.
Practice Exam

Back to Course Page